The American Institute of Architects strives to provide valuable educational opportunities for designers, architects and building industry professionals. The DC Chapter offers a number of continuing education lectures, seminars and classes throughout the year. See our upcoming events on the calendar and find out about online learning options.

AIA Continuing Education Requirements

AIA National Annual Requirements
The AIA measures continuing education in Learning Units (LUs). One hour of continuing education earns 1.0 LU. AIA members are required to complete 18.0 LUs from registered AIA/CES providers each year. Of the 18.0 LUs, 12.0 must be in the topic areas of health, safety and welfare (HSW).

Have I Met My Continuing Education Requirement?
Unsure of the exact number of LUs and HSWs you’ve earned so far? Click here, then follow the log-in instructions. 

Mandatory Continuing Education Requirements for Washington, DC Architects

DC Licensure Requirements
Licensed architects in the District of Columbia must accumulate a total of 24.0 learning units (LUs) each 2-year renewal period. All 24.0 Learning Units must be of HSW (Health, Safety & Welfare) designation.

Next renewal deadline for architects licensed in DC: April 30th, 2020
Update: All licenses remain valid thru COVID emergency. After the emergency is lifted you will have 45 days to renew. 

Online Learning and Self-Reporting
Of your 24.0 HSW|LUs, up to 8.0 LUs may be earned by participation in unstructured learning activities (i.e. online courses or self-reported activities); the remaining 16.0 HSW|LUs must be earned in structured lectures, seminars or other educational events.

Please note: DCRA will accept AIA- and NCARB-approved online learning activities as structured learning activities. All non-AIA and non-NCARB online learning activities will be considered unstructured learning activities. 

For more information about DC licensure with the District of Columbia Board of Architecture and Interior Design, click here.