The Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors that is made up of architects and public sector members who represent the local building and development industry, local housing and social service non-profits, and arts organizations. Board members serve two-year terms.

While most programs are headed by volunteers, five staff members of the Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects devote a portion of their work time to the Foundation in exchange for a modest management fee to the Chapter. The Foundation's affiliation with the Washington Chapter of the AIA affords it a pool of volunteer architects and other professionals who make its programming possible. In addition, public members of the Foundation frequently volunteer their skills and experience as needed.

2020 Board of Directors

Officers

Stephen Wright, AIA
swright@asg-architects.com
President

Gina Volpicelli, AIA​
gvolpicelli@sbaranes.com

Vice President

Todd Ray, FAIA  
tray@pagethink.com
Secretary and Treasurer

Mary Fitch, AICP, Hon. AIA
mfitch@aiadc.com

Executive Vice President

Board Members

Michael Armstrong - marmstrong@ncarb.org​
John di Domenico, AIA - jdidomenico@ddp-ny.com​
Katie Garrett - kgarrett@req.co​
Jeffrey Kerr - jdkerr@sgh.com​
Sean Patrick Nohelty, AIA - ​sean.nohelty97@gmail.com​
Joseph Sacco, AIA - jjsacco@mac.com

Staff

Mary Fitch, AICP, Hon. AIA
mfitch@aiadc.com

Executive Vice President

Katherine Adams
kadams@aiadc.com

Development Director

Rachel Simonson
rsimonson@aiadc.com

Foundation Outreach Coordinator


WAF Past Presidents