The Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors that is made up of architects and public sector members who represent the local building and development industry, local housing and social service non-profits, and arts organizations. Board members serve two-year terms.

While most programs are headed by volunteers, five staff members of the Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects devote a portion of their work time to the Foundation in exchange for a modest management fee to the Chapter. The Foundation's affiliation with the Washington Chapter of the AIA affords it a pool of volunteer architects and other professionals who make its programming possible. In addition, public members of the Foundation frequently volunteer their skills and experience as needed.

2021 Board of Directors

Officers

Gina Volpicelli, AIA​
gvolpicelli@sbaranes.com

President

Jeffrey Kerr
jdkerr@sgh.com​
Vice President

Todd Ray, FAIA  
tray@pagethink.com
Secretary

Sean Patrick Nohelty, AIA 
sean.nohelty97@gmail.com​
Treasurer

Mary Fitch, AICP, Hon. AIA
mfitch@aiadc.com

Executive Vice President

Board Members

Michael Armstrong - marmstrong@ncarb.org​
Peter Cook, FAIA - pcook@hga.com
John di Domenico, AIA - jdidomenico@ddp-ny.com​
Marc Fairbrother, FAIA - marc.fairbrother@crtkl.com
Katie Garrett - kgarrett@req.co​
Suzanna Kelley, FAIA skelley@mckinley-advisors.com
Joseph Sacco, AIA - jjsacco@mac.com
Stephen Wright, AIA - swright@asg-architects.com
 

Staff

Mary Fitch, AICP, Hon. AIA
mfitch@aiadc.com

Executive Vice President


WAF Past Presidents