Mary Fitch, Hon. AIA with 2015, 2016, and 2017 Barbara G. Laurie Scholars

The Barbara G. Laurie Scholarship
Awarded each year, the AIA|DC and the Washington Architectural Foundation are proud to provide a scholarship for DC high school students entering undergraduate architecture programs.

Architects Foundation Scholarships
Every year, the Foundation awards thousands of dollars in architecture scholarships to high school students; to architecture students in NAAB-accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs; to Architect Registration Exam (ARE) candidates who are working toward becoming licensed architects; and to licensed architects pursuing educational enrichment opportunities.

The Barbara G. Laurie Scholarship

The Barbara G. Laurie Architectural Scholarship was established in 2013. Laurie, an architect who was devoted to the Washington Architectural Foundation and the community, was a partner of Devrouax + Purnell, a prominent architecture firm in DC. She was a founding member of the Organization of Black Designers and professor of architecture at Howard University. After her untimely passing in 2013, the scholarship was named in her honor.

Past and current scholars include:

Aime Vailes-Macarie, Pratt Institute, Class of 2015
2013 SOM Scholar

Gabriel Massalley, Temple University, Class of 2015
2013/2014 Barnes Vanze Scholar

Alex Claros, Morgan State University, Class of 2016
2013 HKS Scholar

Savannah Cranford, Penn State, Class of 2017
2013 Perkins Eastman Scholar

Oscar Castro, University of Virginia, Class of 2018
2014 cox, graae + spack Scholar

Chinedu Adiele, Virginia Tech, Class of 2019
2015 Lois Nichols Memorial Scholar

Mariah A. Stewart, Tuskegee University, Class of 2020
2016 Joseph Wnuk Scholar

Chidera Udeh, Temple University, Class of 2021
2017 Barbara G. Laurie Scholar

Raina Lee, University of Virginia, Class of 2023
2019 Barbara G. Laurie Scholar


Thank you to our 2020 donors!

Barnes Vanze Architects
Steven Spurlock, FAIA
David Haresign, FAIA
Mary Katherine Lanzillotta, FAIA
Grunley Construction Company
Kinsley Construction
Steve White, FAIA
Sami Kirkdil, FAIA
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners LLP
Richard Williams, FAIA
Gerald Briggs, FAIA
Matthew Chalifoux, FAIA
David Haresign, FAIA
David Neumann, FAIA
Michael Hickok, FAIA
Brenda Sanchez Architect
Jonathan Herz, FAIA
Joel P. Zingeser, FAIA
Kathryn Tyler Prigmore, FAIA
Ewing H. Miller, FAIA
Toriano Davis, AIA
Lewis Goetz, FAIA
Michelle Honey, FAIA
Joseph Carl Giuliani, FAIA
Robert Ivy, FAIA
Jeffrey Lee, FAIA
Lenore Lucey, FAIA
Constance Lai, FAIA
Rhona Graff
Tim and Laila Louie
Mary Chan
Christopher Morrison, FAIA
James Thackaberry, AIA
Edmond Gauvreau, FAIA

WAF programs are supported in part by the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.​