The Aga Khan Award for Architecture: Thriving and Inclusive Commons - Webinar

  • Date

    Wednesday, June 23 2021

  • Time


  • Location


Join us in celebration of the Aga Khan Award's 2017-2019 cycle, themed around Architecture in Dialogue for a panel discussing public space as a public good, the civic commons, and its role in improving quality of life.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence. The Award recognizes examples of architectural excellence in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, historic preservation, reuse and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment.

For architecture to maintain its relevance in relation to today’s challenges, it is imperative that the profession repositions itself in relation to today’s human, societal and environmental challenges. Thriving and inclusive commons is one of the three dominant themes that emerged and which define the winners of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Cycle

This program is in association with Architecture in Dialogue: The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, a virtual exhibition opening June 9, 2021. View the exhibition here.

Moderated by: 

Kristian Kloeckl, PhD

Associate Professor, Northeastern University School of Architecture

Director, Experience Design Lab


Adnan Morshed, PhD

Professor, Catholic University School of Architecture and Planning

Mary Anne Ocampo 

Principal and Urban Designer, Sasaki

Associate Professor of Practice, MIT Department of Urban Design and Planning

Brigitte Shim

Professor, University of Toronto, Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design

Principal, Shim-Sutcliffe Architects

2019 AKAA Steering Committee member