The 2017 Awards Show

This exhibition combines award-winning projects from three of AIA|DC’s largest competitions:

Each year, our competitions recognize practitioners, educators, and students within the architecture community who demonstrate excellence in design. Projects are selected by distinguished juries of design professionals based outside of the Washington metropolitan region.

The exhibition features 41 projects organized by competition: theoretical and unbuilt commissioned projects in Unbuilt Washington Awards; single family, multifamily, and mixed-used residential projects in Washingtonian Residential Design Awards; and architecture, interior architecture, historic resources, and urban design/master planning projects, including Presidential Citations, in Chapter Design Awards. Citation categories include design and wellbeing, sustainable design, universal design, and urban catalyst.

2017 Unbuilt Washington Award winners: aldayjover architecture and landscape, University of Virginia; HKS, Inc.; Luis Pancorbo and Ines Martin Robles, University of Virginia with Marcelo Ruiz Pardo and Sonia Nebreda; mcdowellespinosa, University of Virginia; Michael Beaman, University of Virginia; Perkins+Will; and Tyler Mauri with Austin Edwards, Ben Dinapoli, and Ziqi Chen, University of Virginia.

2017 Washingtonian Residential Design Award winners: Carter + Burton Architecture PLC; DLR Group/Sorg Architects/Weslake Reed Leskosky; EL Studio PLLC; KUBE Architecture; McInturff Architects; Richard Williams Architects PLLC; Robert M. Gurney, FAIA, Architect; Shalom Baranes Associates; Shinberg.Levinas Architects; Square 134 Architects; and Wiebenson & Dorman Architects PC.

2017 Chapter Design Award winners: Bonstra | Haresign ARCHITECTS; David Jameson Architect; Freelon Adjaye Bond/SmithGroupJJR; Gensler; Hamilton Snowber Architects; Hartman-Cox Architects; MTFA Architecture; Quinn Evans Architects; Robert M. Gurney, FAIA, Architect; Stanton Architecture; STUDIO Architecture; and Studio Twenty Seven Architecture. 

Closing Party: January 16th, 6:30pm