The Washington UNBUILT design Awards program has a unique role to play in supporting a vibrant intellectual discourse within the design community in the DC metro region. This program bridges the academic and professional communities by providing a forum for recognizing the contributions of both younger and established practitioners alike. Accordingly, the objective of the Awards program is to engage and recognize the broadest possible range of research, conceptual exploration and innovation in design thinking represented in the DC Metro region.

2017 UNBUILT Awards Jury:

  • Dan Gallagher, AIA, NADAA, Boston, MA
  • Nancy Hou, Hou de Sousa, New York, NY
  • Bryan Young, AIA, Young Projects, New York, NY

2017 Submission Deadline: February 27, 2017, 6:00 PM

Read the Call for Entries + Submit

2016 Unbuilt Awards

This year’s fantastic jury is made up of individuals, each of whom have a significant history of demonstrating balance between academic engagement and professional practice: 

ERIC HöWELER, AIA - Höweler + Yoon
DAVID RUBIN, ASLA, FAAR - Principal, Land Collective
GABRIEL SMITH, FAIA - Director, Thomas Phifer and Partners

Winners of this year’s competition will be featured in an exhibition at the District Architecture Center later this year.

View Previous Winners